Thread: Opinions appreciated!!

User Info Menu

Default Opinions appreciated!!

I posted earlier about tuning pitches for a conga/bongo combo but didn't get any replies.. perhaps because it's an individual thing, but I could really use some opinions about this. Right now I have the congas tuned to C and G and the bongos tuned to E and G. I'm not sure that give me much of a pitch "flavoring", so I would really like to hear what some experience is telling you...
    LP Performer Quinto, Conga, Tumba & Remo Nuskyn Heads
    Remo 14" djembe
    Zildjian 14" ZHT High Hats
    Sabian 13"AA El Sabor Salsa Splash
    Cajon
    LP Performer Series Bongos
    TreeWorks chimes

User Info Menu

Default Re: Opinions appreciated!!

Hi busyflyin. I can't help too much on this for you. I am primarily a kit drummer, and I dabble on the congas/bongos. Basically, I just have my congas and bongos tuned to a sound I like, and it was just a shot in the dark. Bongobro is one of a good handful of members here that could help you. You might try PMing him with your question, so that he sees it when he logs in.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

I'd let this post sit for a few days until the hand drummers have time to read it.
    Signature here

User Info Menu

Keep em comin' !
    Remo 14" djembe
    Cajon
    TreeWorks chimes

User Info Menu

This is just mho and I use it on drums too. I have never tuned my drums or conga's to a note. I pitch them. Every drum has it's on point of best tone. According to the type head, wood, Fiberglass, etc. Of course you have to have a idea of the range of a particular size drum. Like your Quinto is going to be a higher pitch than your conga and the Conga is higher than the Tumba. You pitch them by intervals.

User Info Menu