Thread: Greetings and Advice Needed

User Info Menu

Default Greetings and Advice Needed

Hi fellow hand drummers!

I am a novice bongocero from Australia. At the moment I have an el cheapo brand bongo and am beginning to lock down the martillo pattern and some basic variants.

My question is with regard to what type of bongo should I upgrade to, once I convince my wife it is a good investment! As I'm still a beginner I'd like some help deciphering what is the next step in bongo hardware.

Based on my limited knowledge (and budget restrictions) I'm guessing I should aim to upgrade to something between LP Matadors to LP Gen II's?

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated.

Jay

User Info Menu

Default Re: Greetings and Advice Needed

Not much to say, you got it right buy LP or JCR and have fun!!!

CONGARICAN

User Info Menu

Cheers Congarican

User Info Menu

Cool Re: Greetings and Advice Needed

Welcome aboard, both JayBrone007 and Congarican!

BTW, Congarican, I dig your av picture!

As you may have seen from perusing the PERCUSSION section, you're going to get many, many opinions on which bongos are your best choice for an upgrade. Check the DRUM REVIEWS section, too, since I have posted a couple of bongo reviews from a couple years ago which may give you some useful input, including one on Remo bongos.

I currently own a pair of LP Gen II's which I purchased in 1992 and use as my "performance" drums. They've held up very well--they're very heavy, so you will definitely need a heavy-duty stand! LP makes an excellent stand for that, of course. The Gen II's hold their tune very well and will give you some serious finger pops and cracks when you need them. They're worth the extra expense--and if you're gonna be a bongosero for the long run, mate, you'll get your money's worth! Look for a good used set if your budget is tight as (dare I say this?) a bongo head.