Thread: Instructional DVDs

User Info Menu

Default Instructional DVDs

Hi,

I'm going to take up playing the drums. Can anyone recommend a good drum instruction DVD for a complete beginner?

Thanks,

Paul.

User Info Menu

Hi Paul and welcome to DRUM CHAT!

There are many on the market. Drum Bum has a nice one for beginners here:

http://store.drumbum.com/sku-DVD-25.html

Also, don't forget to visit DrumTips.com for thousands of free tips.

User Info Menu

My first instructional dvd was the Musicians Institute: Ray Luzier - Double bass techniques, coordination, and fills.
    Ask your local Guitar Center or music store about it. It's really helpful.

Welcome
    www.myspace.com/maudeephyfe
    The good times won't roll themselves
    Gretsch Renown Maple, Paiste Signature, Reflector, and Dark Energy

User Info Menu

ian paice - not for the pros

dave weckl - back to basics (absolutely great for beginners)

User Info Menu

Call me old fashioned (no really, call me "Old Fashioned") but for an absolute beginner, a drum teacher will always be the best bet. The DVD's and that are good and very helpfull, especially if there is a particular style or technique you'r trying to master, BUT, when you first start, how you hold your stick, the motion you make when you play a stroke, and many other things can't be corrected by a DVD. An instructor can watch you and give you tips about things you are doing that will improve you further and can focus on key areas that need attention, instead of you thinking your doing it right, when in fact you could be doing it so much better.

Don't get me wrong, I am all for music books and DVD's being used and instructional videos on youtube and all that sort of stuff, but at least at the very beginning to help you get strated an instructor would surely be the best option.
    "What consumes your mind, controls your life" - So, what consumes your mind?

User Info Menu