Thread: RemoPinStripes or Ebony Ambassadors

User Info Menu

Default RemoPinStripes or Ebony Ambassadors

hey everyone , im pretty new to drummin and was wondering if i should go for pinstripes or ebony ambassadors on my toms(12", 13") Im looking for a sort of jazz/funk sound, but also just to get some different heads than the pearl ones that came with them - (there pretty beat) Would greatly appreciate anyones advice/opinion on this....thanx
    : ~ Pearl export ELX (ruby fade) Cymbals at present....: Paiste pst3 14" high hats, 16" crash, 20" ride, zildjian ZBT 10" splash. DW5002 turbo double bass pedals. LP percussion block

User Info Menu

I will highly recommend Evans G2 or EC1's, and forget remo all together, but that is just my opinion lol.

User Info Menu

I agree, clear G2's sound really nice. I have the EC2's and they muffle a whole lot if that's what you're looking for.
    www.myspace.com/maudeephyfe
    The good times won't roll themselves
    Gretsch Renown Maple, Paiste Signature, Reflector, and Dark Energy

User Info Menu

Yea 32nd I have a set of ec2's and hate them, they take all the life out of the drum in my opinion, that is why I recommended EC1 they are a thicker single ply and sound so sic, but so does G2's.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ddrumbum
    I will highly recommend Evans G2 or EC1's, and forget remo all together, but that is just my opinion lol.
    thanx, ill check them out, tho im more familliar with the differences between the remos - how come you wouldn't recomend them then?
    : ~ Pearl export ELX (ruby fade) Cymbals at present....: Paiste pst3 14" high hats, 16" crash, 20" ride, zildjian ZBT 10" splash. DW5002 turbo double bass pedals. LP percussion block

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by j0sh
    thanx, ill check them out, tho im more familliar with the differences between the remos - how come you wouldn't recomend them then?