Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I in the right place?....a little long.

User Info Menu

Question Am I in the right place?....a little long.

I've been attempting to learn to play the guitar for about 9 months. I have gotten extremely frustrated at my ability not to be able to bend and arch my fingers and hands as required to play properly, despite lots of often painful practice. It doesn't help that I have some nerve damage in on of my fingers as well.

Anyway, when I chose to start playing the guitar, I picked up a modest electric guitar, amp and a few accessories. So fortunately I'm not out a bunch of cash. When I started out, I had a hard time picking between learning guitar and drums. I think I knew from the get go, I chose my "second choice" because I thought it was more practical. It takes up less space, the ability to be less noisy, and portable. But I've always had a natural sense of musical rhythm. I can "finger drum" what I think a great additions to most songs! , and have always just naturally known where chord changes are, etc. Deep down, this is the instrument I've always wanted to play. I gave the guitar a good whirl, but even the guy giving me lessons said I have some anatomical challenges on top of the nerve damage that are hindering my progress.