Thread: Tuning for a shallow bass drum?

User Info Menu

Default Tuning for a shallow bass drum?

I own a Pearl Rhythm Traveller kit to practice with. It's not a bad kit, but I've continuously had a problem with the bass drum. No matter how much I tune it, it only sounds empty, no thud, just a dead beat. Granted, I'm not an expert at tuning, it's not a deep drum, and I'm only using stock heads, but I've heard other stock heads (take a look on Youtube if you'd like) that sound much better than mine. One thought is that the dampening I'm using (a towel) may be touching the heads too much, but I'm not sure.

Anyone have any advice on how to tune/dampen a shallow bass drum? Thanks.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Tuning for a shallow bass drum?

I know how shallow the rhythm traveler is, in general. How do you want it tuned? Deep? Clicky? Normal? <--lol
    So itchie, how did the kick sound?
    Quote Originally Posted by itchie
    like godzilla humping a mountain
    Quote Originally Posted by CycleDude View Post
    You, my friend, owe me a keyboard... I just spit coffee all over mine...
    Get counted! http://www.drumchat.com/showthread.p...ers-12079.html

Check it.
    http://www.reverbnation.com/allihave

User Info Menu

Not sure how you would define "normal", but probably somewhere around there. For an actual definiton, deep over clicky, definitely. I want it to sound like something fuller than hitting a brick (which is what it sounds like right now) without being too ringy, if that makes any sense.

User Info Menu

The resonant head on that is mesh isn't it? The rhythm traveler has a pretty shallow bass drum, so, it won't really sound like a 18x24 kick or anything. Not without triggers at least.