Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie playing over music - tips?

User Info Menu

Question Newbie playing over music - tips?

I am at the baby steps level, and will start playing over recorded music soon, to get my "money beat" a little more assured, and comfortable

Any tips or mistakes to avoid?
    I am thinking of the mechanics of it.

I have collected a good list of recommended "supportive" material, AC/DC and the like, so I am set with that part.

I have a local community radio with great and varied music, and it is fun trying to latch on, either an unknown song, or an old classic... or lose it completely! Maybe there is some learning done in the losing-it part too here as well?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Newbie playing over music - tips?

i would suggest drum lessons

but if you cant get a few drum lessons try searching drumchat for a recommended book thread

User Info Menu

Hey, Im new to DC and this is my first reply based post!
    But I have had drum lessons for around 7 months and that has helped me a lot! so my suggestion would to get some! Also another thing that helps me is listening to music and thinking about the timings and etc!

So my suggestions would be get drum lessons, listening to a lot more songs with focused drum beats or simply browse youtube and get some online drum lessons. Maybe mike johnston!
    Tama superstar Kit:
    14" Snare
    10" 12" 13" Toms
    18" Floor Tom
    22" Bass Drum

Cymbals:
    13" Sabian AA medium High Hats
    16" Sabian AA medium Crash
    18" Sabian AA large Ride
    16" Paiste Power Crash

Pedal: Tama Iron Cobra Single Pedal
    High Hat Stand: Tama Stage Master High Hat Stand

User Info Menu

Agreed on the need for lessons.

I was asking for tips about playing over music, specifically. i.e., what works well, what does not.
    I am still working on getting comfortable behind the set and the "mechanics" of it, while cleaning up my eight-note beat.

User Info Menu