Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What song made you want to start playing drums?

User Info Menu

Default What song made you want to start playing drums?

Hunka hunka burnin' love off an Elvis live CD my parents had. Drum Fills everywhere!!

User Info Menu

no song in particular for me i have always really admired the sound of the drums. i would like to name a song but i cant.

User Info Menu

My dad's band! I was listening to them before I was even born.

User Info Menu

I'm like livewire80. No particular sound did it for me. Since I was a little kid, I always wanted to play the drums, but I got a clarinet instead. Whenever I listen to music, I hear the drum beat. It's always what moved me when I listened to music. One day I just asked myself what I was waiting for. I started playing the guitar a little before Christmas of last year, and then I bought a practice pad to practice drum beats, thinking that it would solidify rythms in my head and improve my guitar playing. Well, it did that and more. I now have two loves. Guitars and drums. I guess it was just time to let my creative side out!

User Info Menu

Cool What song made you want to start playing drums?

Set: "Wipeout!" (like many of us in the '60s)

Hand Percussion: There is a St. Louis-based jazz group called Quartette Tres Bien which played a club called The Dark Side in an old-time entertainment district (in this case, 1960s) called Gaslight Square. It consists of a pianist, a bassist, a set player, and a dude who played three congas and a pair of bongos like no one I have ever seen before or since. Their specialty was, needless to say, cool dark jazz with much percussion. There was a Gaslight Square revival in 1981 at which I saw them in action--and I was just spellbound watch'n that conga player. (Truth is that's what really pushed me to start studying percussion!) I think they played "A Taste of Honey," but they could have played a detergent commercial and blown me away, man!