Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tuning Rant: G2s Argh!

User Info Menu

Angry Tuning Rant: G2s Argh!

I'm a methodical, patient guy. I figure tuning a drum might take maybe an hour. But not the three hrs. per I've experienced recently tuning my recently purchased and much recommended Evans G2s!

I've read and watched tuning tips and videos and discovered it's just not that simple. Sometimes you're just lucky! As an artist I've stretched a great many canvases and understand that the principles of tuning are similar: equal tension all around the heads means consistent tone all around and less chance of "growl" and dissonance.

But none of the methods work for me. It's been hit or miss. Starting with "finger tightening" as the first round of tuning. At least one, sometimes two, tension rods are tighter sooner than any of the others. Grease them and it makes no difference. Sometimes the hoop shifts, making the first of tension rods tighten sooner than the others. (Also the "independent suspension " system of the Sonors won't allow finger tightening of two rods of the 6 on the toms.) I've tried shims, tension rod height measurements and simultaneous, opposite tightening to keep that from happening. I doesn't usually work too well. Maybe a drum dial would keep that from happening?

Then, two full turns of the drum key are called for, all around, sequentially. Same problem will develop as the hoop bears down on one side first.
    Trying the two full, equal turns for opposite or diagonal tension rods still creates a hoop shift with the tensioning process and unequal tension.
    At this point my tension/tone results are always (for 6 tension rods) around the hoop: hi-lo-hi-lo-hi-lo. Adjusting sequentially= hi-hi-higher-higher-hi-higher as tensioning affects nearby areas.