Thread: Newbie lessons question

User Info Menu

Default Newbie lessons question

Hi, i'm new to the drums and at 39 bit a of a late starter! I purchased a dtxplorer 2 months ago, thought i would try it out see if i like the whole drumming thing and i do. is the dtxplorer ok to begin lessons on and if so would it be better to find a teacher with e drums or would i be ok with acoustic kit lessons?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Newbie lessons question

Drums are drums. It shouldn't matter if you learn on an e-kit or acoustic kit. The only thing that is going to be different is feel. Everything else will be the same. I believe. I've only played an e-kit a few times and I could play it just as well as my acoustic kit.

User Info Menu

Thanks, never tried an acoustic kit so wasnt sure

User Info Menu

I teach at a school who has the TDXpress. I hate it so much but I think that's more the job than the equipment haha.

Good beginner kit and it'll make you appreciate any other kits when you get one haha.

Good luck my friend!

User Info Menu

Hey Dodge, welcome to the chat! IMHO I believe you picked right one to start on..the acoustic..now I don't want the e-drum players mad at me..but it takes a bit of experience to use and appreciate edrums and the necessary equip. so practice, practice practice and enjoy those as you will not doubt grow into another set quickly! we all did
    Enjoy the Music!

HOOKED ON VINTAGE ROGERS

12 tom times 3
    13 tom times 3
    16 floor tom 3
    22 BD times 2
    24 BD 1
    Dyna-sonic snare 1976
    Dyna-sonic snare 1969
    Powertone snare 1969
    24 x 12 Djembe

21" K Hybrid custom ride
    21" Avedis ride
    20" Zildjian 1970 ride
    18" A Custom Zildjian fast crash
    17" A Custom Zildjian med crash
    15" A Custom Zildjian Reso hats
    10" A Custom fast splash
    18" A Custom China
    LP Cowbell baby..always more cowbell

Member of "PHROGGES AQUARIAN ARMY"
    The Zildjian League

Drum Chat's Record for Most Users Online