Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: seeking advice from experienced players

User Info Menu

Default seeking advice from experienced players

Hey guys, my name's sean and im actually a new member here and id like to say theres some great, informative posts, as well as amazing drummers!
    im going to be a senior in high school, and ive been playing drums for 4 years now.

ive actually never taken drums "seriously" and i played drums as a hobby. however, recently inspiration just hit me in the face and I decided to develop my skills and make myself a better drummer.

as i stream the forums and ask and even answer questions, i hope that i can build myself to be a more knowledgeable drummer!

wow that was a long introduction. but okay! ill be posting a lot of questions but to start my first goal... im a righty but i really want to develop my left hand. my left hand "chops" are terrible and i need exercises and ideas to have a stronger, faster hand. im desperate right now because i joined drumline and i got tenor drums. the song requires me to play paradiddles and move around the drums in 172bpm. right now, my left hand struggles to keep up with my right and overall feels very uncomfortable.
    i need to be able to build my left hand in ~2 months...is there any intensive training that i can do? im motivated to practice so even the most dreadful exercises are okay as long as it will show fast results

this might be asking for much, but if you can, can you guys be as descriptive as possible?

thank you guys so much!!!

summary: how to make my left hand stronger//faster in around 2 months. how to overall just increase playing speed! practice methods!

User Info Menu

Default Re: seeking advice from experienced players