Thread: What should I keep on practicing?

User Info Menu

Default What should I keep on practicing?

First of all hello to everyone It's not exactly my first time on these forums, but I haven't been here in quite a bit of time and I'm not exactly sure what to do right now, so I decided I'd turn to some experts for help.

To start off, I'm still relatively new to drumming. I own a (very bad) drum set that I received as a present about a year and a half ago. After I got it I started playing and I learned quite a bit in one month, a few songs, exercises, I watched a lot of videos and got familiar with the world of drumming, but then I just quit.

Now, about one month ago, the band I was in since that time finally got all its members (we lacked vocals and a bassist) and we decided we would start rehearsing. All my fellow band members have over a year of experience playing their instruments, so they are far more skilled than I am. We rehearsed for a few times, played twice on stage (a pub in our town has a Jam Session/Open Stage night every week), and it went quite well, but I still feel like I'm a total beginner and I can barely play anything.

This is where I need help. There are no teachers in my area, no drum shops, only a small musical instrument shop (so I don't have any places to pick up anything useful), so I'm all on my own. I want to try and get better, and keep up with the rest of the band (since the songs they're suggesting us to cover are near impossible to me now), but I don't know which path is the right one for a better progress in my drumming skills.

First of all, what exercises should I be doing?
    I've looked around these forums and around the internet, but the amount of information is overwhelming, so it's really hard to understand what is good and what is not.