Thread: Guide to learning to tune drums

User Info Menu

Default Guide to learning to tune drums

I want to learn how to tune my drums properly. So far my tutor has been doing it for me, and my own efforts have been pretty bad.

This DVD has been recommended as a good way to learn the 'basics', which is what I really want to get under my belt right now.

Anyone used this, is it any good? Any other DVD's that I should be considering?

You know the very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common:
    they don't alter their views to fit the facts, they alter the facts to fit their views,
    which can be uncomfortable if you happen to be one of the facts that needs altering.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Guide to learning to tune drums

I bought Bob Gatzen's dvd. I liked it. There are a bunch of clips from it in youtube. I have no knowledge of the dvd you have selected.
    "The chances of being attacked and killed by a terrorist are less than the chances of being attacked and killed by your own heart"
    Carrying the message to Garcia. Today and everyday.
    Temple Beth Snare Buzz-Head Rabbi

User Info Menu

Before buying a DVD, I'd spend some time going through the many u-tubes on this topic (Gatzens are good, some are not so good), and take an afternoon to read the 'Drum tuning Bible', which you can download for free http://home.earthlink.net/~prof.sound/
    Many people say they suck at tuning at first, then it just clicks, once you take the time to experiment, and to understand your drums - batter vs resonant. Now I love tuning my drums, almost as much as playing them.

User Info Menu

The more you know, the better you'll get!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by slinglander View Post
    The more you know, the better you'll get!
    I nominate this post for the quote of the day.

User Info Menu

The right video, the right question here, all are good places to start to learn tuning.