Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need help with foot technique....

User Info Menu

Default Need help with foot technique....

Hey guys as Most of you do not know I have been playing drums for about 4 years and I have developed an incredibly bad habit. When playing my double bass pedals I tend to play heel up and use my toe to push down on the pedals. So my drum teacher has told me I should get out of this habit ASAP. Is there any different technique I should try to maintain. Since it's been four years it's going to be difficult to try a different technique. Do you guys recommend I try a different technique or stay with my heel up one?
    CURRENT SETUP-
    Sonic Drive 7 piece kit.
    2 up 2 down

- Sabian AA Holy China 17"
    - Meinl classics custom extreme metal crash 18"
    - Sabian AA 16" crash
    - Zildjian Z custom 20" ride
    - Evans G2 heads
    - Pearl Demon Drive Double Pedal
    -Joey Jordison signature snare drum.

Drummer For: *BAND HAS NO NAME YET*
    Genre:Metal/Screamo

User Info Menu

Default Re: Need help with foot technique....

Well, what you want to do is use the section below your toes - keep your feet firmly on your pedal and do you thang. For now just practice, keep your feet firmly planted on those pedals and try what I suggested :P
    When I'm not at my kit, I listen to music and double bass to that; I find that I'm getting such a lot of practice with my double bassing that I'm actually becoming better at it in speed and endurance. Listen to some Morbid Angel and practice to that - Pete's double bassing is superb
    Soul Wanderer
    Skald
    Vǫlva

User Info Menu

Wait, how is that bad? I do that a lot. If i'm doing something wrong I would like to know.

User Info Menu

Imo, if you have a teacher then he is going to try to correct your behaviour, irrespective if it works for you or not. The teacher knows that this particular type of behaviour could cause strain and possibly long-term damage.