Thread: Advice sought on practice and double strokes

User Info Menu

Default Advice sought on practice and double strokes

Hello! I was about to describe myself as a beginning drummer, but that's not quite right .... Let me explain. I used to play (after a fashion!) about 26 years ago; I was entirely self-taught, and though I enjoyed myself a lot, probably in truth not that good. Having said that, I was, I think, more impressive in some respects than other self-taught drummers I knew, mainly due to the people I listened to (Mitch Mitchell, Robert Wyatt pre-accident, Billy Kreutzmann and so on). Being influenced by them meant, for a start, that I could do an awful lot more with my left-hand than most people I knew in the mid-80s (a semi-professional drummer, seeing me play, once said "You don't need to bother with all that left hand stuff; nobody does that any more"!).

Anyway, a couple of months ago, I bought a Roland HD1 electronic kit, just to get back some of that fun I had as a youngster. I was very rusty at first, but I'm probably now back to being as good as ever was. But, of course, all my bad habits and faults are still there. In particular:

* I have a slow right foot
    * My rudiments and so on are imprecise and undisciplined, and apt to be approximations of the way things should sound
    * Independence of limbs is not great: for example, I find it very hard to keep the beat with hi-hat pedal when doing other stuff with my hands.

My wife is a musician, and living with her over the last decade and a half, I've come to realise that my problem always was that I never really *practised*: I only ever *played*. My intention is now to put that right. When the academic year restarts, I'll get a teacher and start again from scratch. In a way, though, I'm trying to do that on my own first. I've bought a Steve Laffy instructional DVD, and even though it starts right from the basics, I think that's probably what I need.

Here are my questions: