Thread: Choosing tom heads

User Info Menu

Default Choosing tom heads

So I bought a cheap drum set because I had to get back into the game real quick. I go drafted to be in a friends band because Im a drummer. I bought a cheap OSP drum set to get started, its not the greatest but I think it has potential. The shells are a thin 4-ply maple or basswood, not sure which kind. The heads that came on it are laughably bad so I need to upgrade. I know a lot of people have bought or still use cheaper drum sets and still made them sound good. The kick drum sounds fair the way I have it muffled but it needs a batter head, as do all my toms.

The sound Im going for with the toms is a punchy low tone. The music Im going to be playing will be classic hard rock like 70's stuff. Im looking for the sound like the rock bands all had in the 80's witht the thunderous toms. Ive heard pinstripes can sound good on cheap shells if they are tuned right and muffled with rings. And everyone raves about Evans heads but I heard a set of hydrolics on a cheaper drum set and it was very ringy, even live on stage. So Im not sure the hydrolics are what I want. Most likely I will be putting my stock batter heads on the resonant side of the toms when I replace the batter heads. Anyway if you have a cheaper drum kit and still had luck with new heads Id like to hear what you used and how it sounds. Thanks!

User Info Menu

I've been throwing this around here lately, but I think it's a really good resource for drum tuning and drum sounds.http://home.earthlink.net/~prof.sound/id5.html

If you go toward the end of the page there is a great listing of drum heads and their attributes. Read this and you'll have a better Ideas of what you want.

User Info Menu

Aquarian Superkick II bass head..and Performance II tom heads

User Info Menu

I know a lot of people with the superkick bass batter heads, must be a good reason for it!