Thread: i need a band!

User Info Menu

Default i need a band!

As you all know my jerk of a guitarist pretty much imploded my band shades of gray.

i need suggestions on how to form a new one?
    but what i really am asking is this: what kind of genre of music should the band be?

i know i'm a punk/metalcore influenced drummer. but i like other stuff too.
    what should i do?
    Ostinato is the way to go!

User Info Menu

You should'nt let anyone tell you what kind of music to play.

The only band advice I can give you is something that took me a long time to learn. Don't just form a band with your friends just because they are your friends. Instead, find people who share the same ideas as you both sonically and in your goals.

User Info Menu

Amen, EP! Whenever you come together with other people, having a common purpose is the way to success. I've seen more friendships broken simply because the group was not all pulling in the same direction.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

It is sometimes easier to join a band than it is to form a new one. Find a band you like and hang out. Don't try to steal the gig but let the band know in a subtle way that if the chair ever became open, you'd like a shot at being the new drummer.

User Info Menu

i just might place a want ad at my local samash saying this:
    PUNK/METALCORE INFLUENCED DRUMMER AVAILABLE
    like that

User Info Menu

A good resource is your local craigslist.

http://orlando.craigslist.org/ and lookin the Musicians section.

User Info Menu

huh?

User Info Menu

It's like a giant classifieds. go into musicans and you will see people looking to form bands. Or you can post your own ad.

User Info Menu

i'll go with the 2nd option

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

i'll think about it.