Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Everything seems too ringy and high pitched..

User Info Menu

Default Everything seems too ringy and high pitched..

Hey,

So I haven't been playing long at all. I'm a guitarist primarily, so I don't play drums as much, at all.

I've just tried tuning my snare, which went badly. I think the stock heads need replacing, but it could be me being bad. Anyway, on all the videos and the Drum Bible, everyone seems to want a good ring and for it to be high pitched.

I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong here, because I prefere barely any sustain and deep sounding drums.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIqa27Ml3jI"]2005 Cream Reunion Toad - YouTube[/ame] Around 6:40 is the sounds I like. Deep, rich, with no real ring to them. Even Ginger's snare seems to be quite tame.

Am I alright thinking this, or am I a crazy guitarist who needs to learn stuff?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Everything seems too ringy and high pitched..

It's all subjective. For every high-pitched snare with ring, you'll also find lower pitched snares with little ring.

Do whatever makes you happy and/or what the band or engineers want from you.

Oh and welcome to our forum!

User Info Menu

You will probably find that the more time you play, the more the ring starts to sound good to you. Most people start off dampening their drums pretty heavily, then slowly doing less and less over the years as their tuning skills improve. I still use a bit of moongel on my toms after 24 years. I have a dampening ring on my snare during practice and rehearsals, but remove it at gigs.

Oh - welcome to the forum.

User Info Menu

REmember to tune your drums to where they sound good OUT IN FRONT WITH MUSIC PLAYING. If you get the drums sounding great just alone, you've probably tuned out all the ring and overtones you need when music is playing, then your drums will sound like cardboard boxes live.
    And the trees are all kept equal by hatchet, axe, and saw. . .

User Info Menu