Thread: Electronic kit for University

User Info Menu

Default Electronic kit for University

hey guys, im heading into my second year at university and last year i did not have an electric kit to play on at uni, and i missed playing so bad! this year im going to have a bit more spare money and room is slightly bigger, so im looking at buying an electric kit.

ive been playing for about 10years, but have only played acoustic kits for any length of time (ive played on an electric one at school but only for an hour or 2), so i have a lot to learn to do with electric kits.

i only have around £300 to spend, but if you really think it helps i could maybe stretch to nearer 400, and im happy to buy second hand if you think im better of doing so, and it needs to able to pack down pretty small so it doesnt eat up all my space in my uni room.

ive read the yamaha dtxplorer is tht sorta price, and has features beyond its price range, but im a noob and dont really understand haha

any suggestions and advice is greatly appreciated, thankyou

User Info Menu

Default Re: Electronic kit for University

Welcome to Drum Chat gottdonn13!

I'm no expert on e-kits, but I'm sure someone who can help you will be along very soon.

Again, welcome.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

If you can afford the Yammy, I would go for it. It is pretty good for the money, and many features to play around with. I would also try looking on craigslist, there may be some Rolands (very high end brand) for cheap. May not be in your price range, but if your lucky you could find one for around 400. Ebay might have a SD9K for cheap too, same for craigslist. Very nice kits.