Thread: Buzz Rolls/ Drum rolls?

User Info Menu

Question Buzz Rolls/ Drum rolls?

Can anyone give me some tips on how to do Buzz rolls or bounce rolls? Ive been playing for around 5-7 months now but I was never taught these rolls, and I really want to learn how to play the song Champagne Supernova by Oasis but I have no idea how to do the rolls after the first pattern. I hope someone would help me out here. Thank you

User Info Menu

Default Re: Buzz Rolls/ Drum rolls?

A buzz roll is also called a press or crushed roll. All you do is kinda press or crush each drum stick to the drum head. Left & right, just repeat that until it sounds like a roll.
    When you do buzz rolls its on the snare drum only, you could only do a buzz roll with the snare drum. The snares buzz. Buzz rolls dont bounce, thats a different type of roll.

Another type of roll that is use is the single stroke roll. You just practice and try and develope slow then fast single alternating hand strokes until it sounds like a roll.
    This is what most drummers do when they play and the single stroke rolls sound good on the toms. There is no bouncing to this type of roll.