Thread: Books on certain latin rhythms?

User Info Menu

Default Books on certain latin rhythms?

Hey guys...

I have been studying many latin rhythms for the past year. But they have all been from cheap youtube videos. So I was wondering if you guys had any books on latin rhythms..

Here are the styles I am studying at the moment

African
    Cuban
    Afro-Cuban
    Brazillian (As many sub genres of Brazzilian music as I can find)
    I am also studying Jazz as well...(Just thought Id throw that in there)

I would also like some books on Funk...

If any of you could provide a list for me, that would be amazing

Thanks again!

--Darius

User Info Menu

Default Re: Books on certain latin rhythms?

I'm always a proponent of helping Drum Bum out when we can. They're the owners of this site. If you go to this page and put in the search box, "afro" or "funk" or "jazz", you'll see a lot of books come up. You can also look through their drum books pages.

User Info Menu

"The Essance of Afro Cuban Percussion & Drumset"

Great book with instruction for drum set, congas, bongos, timbales, accessory percussion, as well as how all the parts fit together and even music for piano, horns, and bass guitar.

Covers a wide variety of traditional styles with quite a few variations for each and includes a cd with audio examples. Its a really great book that I highly recommend to anyone interested in learning these styles.
    *****GRETSCH****BOSPHORUS****AQUARIAN****VALJE**** *

User Info Menu

Stanton Moore's Take It To The Street encompasses funk, latin beats and NOLA jazz. I think this would be an excellent book. I really like this one because he takes simple beats and just adds accents or moves them around to create awesome grooves.
    ~Success is not the result of spontaneous combustion. You must first set yourself on fire.- Reggie Leach~

User Info Menu