Thread: Gon bops fixed

User Info Menu

Default Gon bops fixed

I rescued this Gon Bops a few weeks ago. It was split between two staves and had one large crack in a stave and another small one.

I took the old finish off, glued and clamped it and this is what I have now.

I put the rings back on by snugging them down only finger tight (didn't knock em into place with a mallet and wood block). I did that to allow for expansion with weather changes. It won't be exposed to the outdoors but I have no experience with multiple rings and I've heard some stories of the rivets popping on them.

There's not a lot of tone left in this old (the original I think) head.....it has a Gon Bops stamp on it. I will probably tuck a new cowhide in the near future. I don't want to go with a hide that's too thick - too hard on this ole mahogany shell and hardware I'm told.

It's not a "Perfect" fit but it is closed and glued and nice-n-tight.
    The line stands out because I used the original sanded wood and mixed it with the wood glue. The original finish had a lot of red (Mahogany stain??) in it.

It's a nice ole drum. I sent Gon Bops an email and asked if they could tell me when this drum was made.

I like this history of Gon Bops - how Mariano Bobadilla (Gon Bops) and Tom Flores (Valje) started working together to build drums in the early 50's. I have some old Valjes and now I have this (maybe old??) Gon Bops to go with them.

Gary

User Info Menu

Default Re: Gon bops fixed

You did a really nice job on that - I'm curious - where did you acquire it to begin with?
    Your = possessive - your stuff, your dog, your car, etc
    You're = you are - a contraction.

Learn it. Love it.

User Info Menu