Thread: Which Acoustic Kit?!

User Info Menu

Default Which Acoustic Kit?!

Tbh, im a bit premature with this thread really, but its always stook at the front of my mind.

Ive only been playing around 18mths or so and am currently getting lessons, albeit only one a fortnight!

It the min, I live in a terraced house and play a Roland TD4KX electronic kit, I cannot wait for the day that we eventually move into a detached or more insulated home so I can purchase an acoustic kit. I love playing my electronic kit, but as you will all know, its just not the same as being sat behind an acoustic kit.

I cannot wait!! at the min, I treat this as a bonus, im only learning and not very good, and no one can hear me! lol....I sat behind a acoustic kit about 6 months ago for 30 seconds in a pub, the guy said I could have a go, but bearing in mind, id had several pints (ok for dutch courage!) but all my mates etc. sat facing me, i did a basic rock grove for about 30 seconds, but the noise, feel and excitement for me was unreal, pah! to my electronic kit!

Although, my instructor has 3 acoustic kits, plays in a couple of bands, he practices 90% of the time on his Roland electronic, im certainly not disliking the kit, its great.....just not the real deal in my eyes!!

So, my premature question to you guys is, when ready, what acoustic kit to go for! I payed £1,100 for my Roland set up, quite expensive, but well worth it and Im certainly getting my moneys worth from it.

Ive got a rough figure in my head of £1,500 or below for a kit and around £500 for cymbals & hardware, about £2,000 in total.

One kit I do like the look of it the Mapex Saturn kit, ive read a few reviews and they look to be quite compatible with different kids of music and seem to be a decent well liked brand. The music I seem to play mostly is Pop/Rock.