Thread: What snare is worth a look?

User Info Menu

Default What snare is worth a look?

I'm an intermediate drummer, normally playing my electronic kit (please don't throw things at me)
    I'm getting in to jamming with some mates at some rehersal studios and want to buy a new snare (the old one is rrrrrrrubbish)
    What's you fav?

Thanks
    Cheers

Lionheart

User Info Menu

Default Re: What snare is worth a look?

Personal favorite is a Rogers Dynasonic, but Ludwig bronze snares are also wonderful.
    You can always tell a drummer...but you can't tell 'em much.

Stuff:

1975 Rogers Londoner V in Spanish Gold
    Sonor Force 3000 in need of refinishing
    5" and 6.5" Rogers Dynasonic COB snares
    Sabian, Amedia and Istanbul Mehmet cymbals

User Info Menu

go to the music stores and play them, your ears will know when you have found the right one.

There are far to many amazing snares out there, take your time and have some fun ;-)
    DW Collectors
    Vintage Superstars
    Roland TD-20
    Misc. Snares
    My Web Site

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by rmandelbaum View Post
    go to the music stores and play them, your ears will know when you have found the right one.

There are far to many amazing snares out there, take your time and have some fun ;-)
    This.

Quote Originally Posted by lionheart View Post
    What's you fav?
    Well, if THIS is what you really want to know, hehe, I'm very partial to the Ludwig Black Beauty, or my DW Super Solid...
    DW - PEARL - PDP - ZILDJIAN - EVANS - VIC FIRTH

Click for Gear Pics!

DW Collector's Series - Blue Glass - 10, 12, 14, 16, 23
    Pearl Session Custom - Green Burst - 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 22
    PDP CX Maple - Red Glass - 12, 14, 16, 24

Quote Originally Posted by LudwigLifer View Post
    If we had centerfolds for drums,that kit would be in one of them!

User Info Menu

mapex black panthers are all sweet.
    Have you got you're ticket for the rock train? You gotta earn that Ticket!!