Thread: PC Recording Software

User Info Menu

Default PC Recording Software

Hi:

I am new at recording drums, in fact I never have. I was wondering what kind of software I should purchase, or is there any free downloads out there? I want to do some simple drum recording in my garage. I hear Apple has a simple program on the Macs, but I have a PC not a Mac.

Thanks!

MAUIWH
    "The happiest people don't have the best of everything, they just make the best of everything they have"

User Info Menu

Default Re: PC Recording Software

Just do a google search on Free recording software and you'll get a number of options - everything from Audacity to Kristal. As for purchased packages, the sky is the limit - ProTools, Cubase, etc.
    Your = possessive - your stuff, your dog, your car, etc
    You're = you are - a contraction.

Learn it. Love it.

User Info Menu

I have Audacity....I have had it for a couple years. I keep installing the updates because they are free on the internet. I have never used it since I, too am new at the recording thing. At first I was going to use the audio interface method but by the time I got done pricing out all the electronic gizmos needed for satisfactory recording, it was more than I could afford. Audacity seemed to fit my budjet and recording needs just fine. From what I am understanding about Audacity is that all I need are the microphones and some way to get the cables into the computer.
    The whole recording thing is quite complicated if you are a perfectionist and is better done with better equipment which always equates to more money. If you just want to hear yourself play and exceptional quality is not an issue I would just dabble with the mics for now since you will need good ones eventually....and in the meantime learn all you can in advance by reading sites like this and the other thousdands of references available.
    You can drive yourself nuts and go broke at the same time.