Thread: My drums recorded

User Info Menu

Default My drums recorded

Well I got all my mics set-up, I am using a CAD kick mic, Snare mic and 2 tom mics and 1 overhead mic, I am running it all thru a mackie 16 channel mixer, and am recording using Adobe Audition, and have done all this myself.

I am still very new to this whole recording thing and would love some advise from my good friends at drum chat, the recording below is what I have come up with so far, it sounds pretty darn good on my nice home theater, but my computer it sounds a little distorted, but I am liking what I am hearing, and I am sure it can be better, I have added no effects or anything(mainly cause I don't know how yet), so please give me your imput on what else I should do, take away or whatever.

Please pay no attention to the drumming, there is no effort involved, I was just playing simply to get a sound, so the drumming basically sucks.

Anyway any help/advise would be much appreciated, thanks.

BTW it takes about 15 sec before I start anything, sorry.

http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/3/...20My%20mix.mp3
    Last edited by Pdplayer; 07-02-2007 at 03:25 PM.

User Info Menu

the only thing there that I think really needs work is the kick. Without know thie position of your mic though it is hard to say how to fix it. It sounds like the mic is either too far into the mic hole, or not in enough, i would guess probably too far into it, beyond that though, it's sounds like a decent setup
    "What consumes your mind, controls your life" - So, what consumes your mind?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by crazymanwithaplunger View Post
    the only thing there that I think really needs work is the kick. Without know thie position of your mic though it is hard to say how to fix it. It sounds like the mic is either too far into the mic hole, or not in enough, i would guess probably too far into it, beyond that though, it's sounds like a decent setup