Thread: Yet another tuning question...

User Info Menu

Default Yet another tuning question...

I'm new to drums and I've read everything I could find on drum tuning but I still have trouble tuning.
    I like the idea of tuning to notes and have tried using a tuner held over the head, but the needle on my tuner bounces around so much that it's impossible to get it to one note. I have 3 different tuners (I played guitar for 36 years) and they all do the same thing.
    I've tried varying degrees of force when I tap the head.
    I've tried getting both heads about the same pitch before using the tuner.
    I am older and have a constant ring in my ears so when I try to tune drums, going around the head at the lugs getting the same pitch is a problem for me. I think a drum dial is in order here.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Yet another tuning question...

Bowhunter, a Drum Dial would be helpful for you, but you'd still have to do the last fine tune by ear to get it just right. There is no doubt that it can help you, though.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Bowhunter, you are not alone!
    But the ringing in your ears shouldn't be problematic, being tone deaf is problematic.
    First off, lose the guitar tuners for now.
    Drum Dials...use one later. It doesn't tune anything, it's a measurement tool.
    If you've read everything about tuning and tried it all, welcome to the club!
    Tuning is more of an art and depends A LOT on personal preferences.

So as a "beginner tuner" I'm assuming you don't really know when and how to achieve the preferred "sound" of your drum but do know about tension rods, tightening patterns, res heads, batter heads, etc.? This is my method to start.