Thread: Which snare head might I use for a darker sound?

User Info Menu

Default Which snare head might I use for a darker sound?

Hello all,
    I'm a newbie to this forum, so I greatly appreciate any direction you guys might give me. I hope I'm posting in the most appropriate thread.

I'm about to record a track with a very ominous and low-tuned snare part that mirrors an aggressive and thumping fingerpicked acoustic guitar's rhythm. It is a very dynamic snare part, with rolls, accented beats, and some syncopation. My problem is that I can't decide what sort of snare head I should buy to get the right sound. I want to be able to tune the snare as low as possible and maintain a dark earthy warm timbre, although adjectives such as that are overly objective. The drum I've decided to use is a 14"x6.5" hammered steel snare. I thought I might like the sound of a Remo Renaissance Powerstroke 3, although I cannot seem to find any samples of what it might sound like, especially tuned low. I'm wondering if a 2-ply head, such as Evans Onyx, might facilitate the lower tuning better and might help give me a darker sound. Two ply heads I observe are primarily intended for heavier playing, and this being a folk song, the snare head will not be abused by hard hitting. As I said, it's a very dynamic part. Do you guys have any recommendations or advice for me?

Many thanks,
    Kevin

User Info Menu

Default Re: Which snare head might I use for a darker sound?

hey welcome to the forum

"mirrors an aggressive and thumping fingerpicked acoustic guitar's rhythm"

i think a woody maple snare would be best ..even without the snares on

User Info Menu