Thread: solos

Shazane Guest

Default solos

I have a solo in one of our new songs, I've never written one before, what advice can you give me?

It's a blackened death metal song, by the way.
    Last edited by Shazane; 07-08-2007 at 11:08 PM.

User Info Menu

Speed and double kick - isn't that really all there is to it that style of music? Maybe I'm being too simplisit or cynical.....Is it at the start of the song or in the middle? Is towards the end of the song leading to the "finale"? Depending on "where" it is in the song should help determine what sort of solo it is. Beyond that though, "feel" it would be my only real advice. You can eihter build something aorund a centrla rhythm or continious beat (like your foot just keeps going 1 2 3 4 1 2...) and then you build around that, or you cold just go nuts for a couple of minutes hitting eveyrthing you can as much as you can. It also depends on if you want to be conscious of what you're doing so you can replicate it later - in which case construct it like 1 bar at a time, committing it to memory, then putting it all together once you have figured out and momorised each part individually.

I dunno....hope something in there helped.....
    "What consumes your mind, controls your life" - So, what consumes your mind?

Shazane Guest

Quote Originally Posted by crazymanwithaplunger View Post
    Speed and double kick - isn't that really all there is to it that style of music? Maybe I'm being too simplisit or cynical.....
    All there is? Look up George Kollias, Jan Axel Blomberg, Dani "Azathothian Hands", Zbigniew Robert Promiński
    Sorry but I'm somewhat offended by that statement... metal is the most complicated style of music there is.

That aside, it's toward the end of the song preceeding a guitar solo. Your last bit of advice was good, I think I'll try that, so thank'ee sai.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Shazane View Post