Thread: Structured learning

User Info Menu

Default Structured learning

Hiya!

Can anyone recommend any good quality links/sites/resources that offer decent structured learning material for drumming?

I've literally found a ton of stuff online including sheets, videos, play-alongs etc etc, but feel a little 'drowned' with it all. To be fair, I'm new to the game, so this is probably expect and normal, but still..

Does anywhere offer a nice simple, structured learning plan to give me some idea where to start... ie..

Weeks 1-4:
    Learning - Drum parts, assembly, tuning, basic beats..
    Material is .....
    Outcome: At the end of this period you should be able to .....

Weeks 5-12: etc...

Anyone know what I mean? I feel a little lost and as I'm not the most patient person, even if I sit down and try and work on a single stroke roll for instance, really I'm thinking about that U2 play-along to "With or Without You".. Delusions of Grandeur and all that :P

Thoughts and recommendations on how to learn from scratch most welcome.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Structured learning

I would start with checking around Drumbum, they have a lot of good skillbuilding stuff like that as well as other accessories you may need gearwise later on down the line. I actually found this site because of business I did with drumbum prior to ever joining up, so I like to check here as one of my main spots before getting my gear elsewhere. Some stuff you have to get elsewhere though, so it forces my hand in that situation. It feels great to support the site though, personally.
    ZildjianLeague/LP/Aquarian/Mapex/Pearl
    Snares: 4
    RIP- Frank, Wolvie, Les Paul
    Quote Originally Posted by Pearl MCX Man View Post
    I wish I was your wife
    Quote Originally Posted by amdrummer View Post
    if double bass is cheating then so is using two sticks

Forum Rules
    DrumBum
    No metronome?
    The Rudiments

User Info Menu