I'm still relatively new at this stuff, but I did quite a bit of research for months lately, and I've gotten some helpful info from professionals, and home studio owners.
I'm no expert at recording and treating, I still have a lot to learn.

A form of acoustic treatment most often mentioned is bass traps, and thats what I will focus on in this thread.

So I will mostly quote some very helpful people, as they get the point across very well about the importance of bass traps, and tips to build them.

"Putting up foam without bass traps will only make the sound worse, as you are killing your high frequencies, but not the low ones, which is where the bigger problem is."

"foam does help recording spaces, but unless you get some bass traps like he said then the cake will only be half-baked."

"So, like ____ suggested in the other thread, bass traps in the corners, a cloud over the drums, as many gobos and broad-band absorbers as possible. I'll insist again that foam and carpeting will only make your room sound worse. In 99% of rooms, bass is 99% of the problem. Without materials that can absorb bass frequencies, all you're doing is killing the highs and mids. You're now making bass 100% of your problem and making a small room sound more box-y than it already is. The bass traps, cloud, gobos and absorbers need to contain the proper materials like rigid fibreglass or a few other materials that are acceptable."

Ok, you may be wondering how to get these bass traps now.
The answer is rather simple: Build them. Really, this is actually the fun part!

You will need some type of frame, rigid fiberglass or rockwool (can be had online for relatively cheap, also check locally), a cover for going over the fiberglass, like a bed sheet.

You can also build gobos (to be used with bass traps is the best option, but you can also use a few gobos on their own as well), which are a very good option if portability and compactness is a concern.