Thread: A2E Conversion

User Info Menu

Question A2E Conversion

Hello! I am new to using software and drum triggers. I recently got myself an acoustic drum kit converted to electronic using mesh heads and drum triggers. I got the Drum module: Alesis DM5 and a mixer: Behringer XENYX 1002.
    I dont like the drum samples of the DM5, so I plan to use Addictive drums. I will use the Addictive drums mainly just to get better sound to my kit.

I wonder how to connect everything together. I have Reaper and Cubase DAW available. How do I connect the DM5 to the mixer and from the mixer to my computer? I have read that I can use the 3.5mm jack to 2x RCA cable connected to my PC and then to Mono adapters in to the mixer. Or should I use midi to USB cable? I was told that I needed a mixer in order to hear my drums and my Ipod music at the same time. But my mixer does not have midi, if thats what i need. After searching the internet for awhile, it looks to me like the easiest thing is to connect my drum module to an Alesis I / O. and simply use the Midi to USB cable for my computer?

I do not know much about the configuration of DAW and Addictive drums together either. If you guys could give me a step by step, or explanation of what settings I need to use in DAW. All from audio settings and VST...I would be very pleased.

Thanks for any help!

User Info Menu

Default Re: A2E Conversion

Okay. I dont really need the mixer, is that correct? I probably just need an external sound card, to get low latency. So I connect midi in / out from the module (Alesis DM5) on to my sound card. And since the DM5 converts audio to MIDI, i dont need the Alesis I / O trigger, if I understand correctly?

Is there any sound cards you guys would recommend?

User Info Menu

I would have used a recording interface or trigger i/o to get it to the computer if anything, but if you don't have this an midi to usb converter will also work.
    ZildjianLeague/LP/Aquarian/Mapex/Pearl
    Snares: 4