Thread: Pratice

User Info Menu

Default Pratice

Forgive my spelling. I am sixty years old. Self taught, wood be drumer.
    I have been playing for five years. I pratice and enjoy playing along with,
    Arrow Smith, Wide spread Panic and most of the sixtys music. Lot of Stevy Ray Von, Blues, BB King. A country western rock band, Terry Lynn Bell &
    Backroads put me to work. We are booked up as a house band for the rest of the year. This band has a CD out. I am concerned about stamina.
    How can I build up my endurence.? Some times my base foot tires out in fast songs. Or my right shoulder gets to hurtin playin triplets on the ride.
    Am I too old to realize a life time dream ?.

User Info Menu

Hey Whiterook, welcome to drum chat!

You're not too old. Get some regular exercise (which is good for you anyway... and good for the heart!) Do stretching exercises for being limber and ride a treadmill or walk for stamina.

For your foot... Even younger drummers will tire due to just not having done it that much. Same with the shoulders. The more you practice and play, the easier it will get.

A few tricks:
    1. Play heel up so as to not wear out your ankle
    2. Put your ride cymbal lower and closer to you so that your arm isn't extended as much.
    3. Practice your basic rudiments (singles esp.) A LOT! This will help you play from the wrist and not the arm, and will keep you from wearing out as fast on longer tunes.

Hope this helps!

User Info Menu

Cool Pratice

Whiterook, welcome aboard! If I'm not mistaken, you are now the oldest (in age) member of DrumChat as well as the newest (in tenure)! If my math is correct, I used to be the oldest member of DrumChat, but I'm proud to pass the honor over to you. (I'm 55.)