Thread: HELP!!! Which Kit to buy?.

User Info Menu

Default HELP!!! Which Kit to buy?.

Hi guys, I'm a semi pro drummer and I want to buy a decent kit before I'm too old! I've always had pearl exports and am lost to what to get next! I also live in a remote area so unable to test kits out ! I have a choice between:

Brand new Pearl VML maple kit,
    Brand new Pearl MCX masters kit,
    Brand new Mapex Saturn kit,
    Second hand Yamaha maple custom kit
    Or an older Pearl master kit!!!!

I am lost, what's everyone's thoughts??????

User Info Menu

Default Re: HELP!!! Which Kit to buy?.

I'm pretty much an unabashed Pearl fanboy, so I'd personally lean towards Pearl, and to me, it really doesn't matter much which one, with the exception that I prefer Optimounts to the I.S.S. mounting, and therefore I'd select from a series that uses the one as opposed to the other.

Having said that, there are so many good kits out there starting at kits marketed as "Entry Level Pro" on up. I think you'd be hard pressed to go wrong with just about any kit from any of the major brands once you got past a certain quality point.

Case in point, I own a set of Pearl SMX Session Customs in Vintage Fade. They were marketed as Entry Level Pro, rather than the full out "professional level" of the Masters series at that time, but to my way of seeing things, there just isn't much about my drums that isn't fully professional. Here were the differences at that time between the SMX Sessions and the MRX Masters:

SMX had a lacquer finish, MRX used polyeurathane.
    SMX used 2.3 mm triple flanged hoops, MRX used die-cast
    MRX had a select grade of maple for the outer play, SMX didn't
    SMX kick drum has 8 lugs per side, MRX has 10
    SMX used the same bridge style lugs as the Export Series, MRX used Masters series lugs
    SMX used standard tension rods and swivel nuts, MRX used stainless T-rods with brass swivel nuts