Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drum Tabs Or By Ear?

User Info Menu

Default Drum Tabs Or By Ear?

Hey Guys!

I've been playing the drums for about three years now, and since my first week of playing I played to my MP3 player or CD's. I started off with some easy songs like Boulevard of Broken Dreams by Green Day, and moved on to some harder ones. Throwing on some music and jamming along with it always felt like an awesome way to practice for me.

I've been noticing that a lot of drummers use TABS. This seems SO weird to me, since I always just threw on my headphones and just... ya know.. played the song.
    So I guess my question is: Do you guys think TABS are necessary or helpful at all?
    How many of you actually use drum TABS?
    How many of you play by ear?
    Thanks!
    I have an insane admiration and respect for the craft that is drumming and I have a never-ending desire to be the best i can possibly be. I dont play drums or practice because I have to, I play because I can't help it. ~ Cobus Potgieter ~

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drum Tabs Or By Ear?

You have to differentiate between actually learning how to play a song, and just playing along with it.

If you're just talking about throwing on some headphones and jamming along with songs, then no need to use tabs. However, if I actually have to learn a song with the intent of performing it, like if my band is doing a cover of it, then I might use tabs. Even in those cases, I almost always learn the song by ear, but sometimes I use tabs for a particular if it's especially busy/complex or hard to discern by ear (i.e. a lot of Tool songs).

The longer you've been playing though, the easier it will get to figure out drum parts by ear. But like you said, if you are just jamming to the songs by yourself and don't have to actually learn them for a band, then there's no need to get the part exactly right and no need for tabs.
    Matt

User Info Menu