Thread: Budget cymbals dilemma.

User Info Menu

Default Budget cymbals dilemma.

I just joined the forums and would like some help determining new cymbals. I looking for cheap, good sounding cymbals. I have been playing drums for about 2-3 years ( not very good, either). I need to replace the brand cymbals that came with my bad star-caster fender drum set. I currently have replaced the ride with an HCS Meinl 20 inch ride. I really like the ride, but I am looking to replace my hi hat and crash with maybe a slightly better quality. I am leaning towards the MCS meinl, but I don't know if better cymbals from other companies are available at the sameish price range.
    If I posted this thread in the wrong section or messed anything else up, I'm sorry. Just need some help.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Budget cymbals dilemma.

Keep your eyes peeled on the used market. There are great deals to be had on used pro level gear. Are you opposed to mixing and matching brands, or are you wanting to stick to Meinl? What type of music do you play? The more specific you are as far as what you're looking for, the better we will be able to help you.

Welcome to the forum also!
    -Reuben

SABIAN SQUAD
    ^^^SGD'S EVANS EMPIRE^^^
    RIP Frank "Fiacovaz" Iacovazzi

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat imnotverygood9!

I agree with defcon's post. With a little more information, we could give more specific advice. Maybe you could give us a budget range and how many cymbals you were considering. That way, we would know whether used professional cymbals might be ok to consider. A lot of us here work on more limited budgets, so used gear is on a lot of our kits.

The big limitation right now will be that you have found a Ride that you liked, so you will be looking for cymbals that have a sound that compliment that Ride. If there is a music store near you, it might help you to take your Ride with you and hear it with other cymbals to decide what sounds right together - for your ears.