Thread: The sound of snares in early rock

User Info Menu

Default The sound of snares in early rock

To get a feel for other kinds of songs I may be asked to play at some point, I've been listening to rock from the 60's and 70's. It sounds to me that the snare is tuned higher than rock that came around later.

I'm still learning terminology, so is calling it higher correct? I mean, what I'm hearing is more of "snare" sound.

In any case, I wonder if this was they style back then or am I just hearing things?
    Rocka Rolla Woman

Mapex Black Raven
    14" Zildjian New Beat Hi Hats
    Zildjian 16" Fast Crash
    17" Zildjian A Custom Crash
    21" Zildjian A Sweet Ride

User Info Menu

Default Re: The sound of snares in early rock

Interesting. I just listened to Chicago's I'm A Man and some Steppenwolf then listened to Joe Bonamassa, Trapt and 12 Stones. The snares in the early stuff are definately tuned higher and tighter.

That said, it probably depends on the band.

User Info Menu

I think it was because they actually used the snares as snare drums vs today's timbale sound... IMO: There was a lot of ghost note use, buzz rolls etc. and not as much interest in just the "crack" sound so many are interested in today. So much so that I've wondered why kits are sold with 14" snares today!
    Last edited by slinglander; 08-09-2012 at 04:48 PM. Reason: added comment
    SONOR 6 pc Special Edition 3007's red maple, old Pearl Brass 14x6 FF snare, Yamaha Tour Custom maple 8 pc., Tama 4 pc., honey amber B/B, Ludwig Supralite chrome 14x6.5 steel snare, Paiste, Saluda & Zildjian
    Loaned out Slingerland upgraded 4 pc 1963 black, wrapped maple + 14" Pearl birch FT
    The Almighty Speed King pedal, Speed Cobra, Sonor Single

http://www.screaminmelinas.com
    http://www.facebook.com/DerailedRockers/

User Info Menu