Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Headphones for practice.

User Info Menu

Default Headphones for practice.

I'll start my first post with what seems like an easy question but I need a little help from you pro's.

I am a long time drummer, but after my band broke up 8 years ago I just haven't had the time,.. but after enough fiddling with a guitar I have to get back on a set.

Problem I'm having is headphones, and in particular being able to hear the song I am trying to replicate (practice to) loudly, and clearly enough to not have the drum set impede or override in any way the song. I'd rather hear more from the phones than the set in a practice (solo) scenario.

Example: Using an Iphone 4, with earbuds just doesn't cut it. While I can play with them, I find myself stopping or just barely 'guessing' through the blend of the set I'm playing and the beat/song coming from the earbuds.

I even tried putting a set of over the ear headphones (not plugged in) over my earbuds and they just are lacking something.

I don't know if most people use some sort of aftermarket amplifier to enhance the headphones from a portable device like this.. or that simply buying some $100 "better" headphones will make this issue go away.

I ask, because I don't want to spend the money and still have the issue.

I've plugged 2 pair of relatively old and inexpensive headphones to a 750watt Pioneer receivers headphone 'out' jack and before it gets to what I need to play comfortably.. it will distort.

What do you guys use, what is a really safe bet? Money is an object, but I'm willing to pay a bit to get the result.

Thanks for any advice,

User Info Menu

Default Re: Headphones for practice.