Thread: Question about ghost notes on snare.

User Info Menu

Default Question about ghost notes on snare.

Hey folks,

I'm a guitarist flirting with drums. Enough to have bought a €1000 V-drum kit a few years back. I was making some progress with it but then gave it to the drummer in a band I was in so he could practise at home.

Anyway, I've got it back now and I'm starting to use it again and also doing drum programming at home. I wrote a blog post gathering together a lot of rules of thumb to help me learn some of the much used principles of drumming (I won't link to it, having read the rules) and the more I learn the more I add so others doing the same type of searching will hopefully find it useful too.

I'm looking into ghost notes and when to use them. I understand they're low velocity snare hits that are more felt than heard.

My question is:
    Would ghost notes on the snare be used as an alternative to a hit on the hi hat.

For example, If I were to play 16ths on the hi hat with a back beat on the snare it would go:

sn ||----------2----------------4-------||
    hh || 1 e & a----e & a 3 e & a----e & a ||

adding in ghost notes * might be:

sn ||---*-----2---*---*-------4---*----||
    hh || 1---& a---e---a----e & a---e---a-||

Would that be considered a normal use of ghost notes?

(*please don't say play whatever you want on any piece of the kit. I understand the whole experimenting is good, I'm just looking to get a few basics to work off before taking it further).

Thanks!
    Last edited by Tomred; 08-30-2012 at 09:32 PM.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Question about ghost notes on snare.

I wouldn't so much say that they just replace hi-hat hits. To me, they're just filler notes. It's a good way to fill out the space and add extra umph to the phrase. They turn boring beats into exciting one. But, the example you posted is a good example. It becomes easier to add ghost notes when you really feel the music if you know what I mean.