Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: An ABSOLUTE beginner!

User Info Menu

Default An ABSOLUTE beginner!

Right, so, forgive me if this has all be done before. But I am an absolute beginner when it comes to recording my drums. I have zero technical knowledge.

So... I want to mic up my kit, and record onto my MacBook Pro. I'm only a beginner, so I don't want to spend megabucks. But at the same time I want to be able to produce a decent sound.

So...

Mics - I'll need a set of these. Any good quality ones that won't break the bank?

Software - I'll need a programme on my MacBook to record onto. I have GarageBand. Will this do the job?

Something to connect the mics to the MacBook - I'm aware my MacBook has limited inputs. What do I need to get the Mics to talk to the Mac?

Anything else I'll need?

Thanks in advance

Adam
    A scouse drummer who isn't Ringo.

User Info Menu

Default Re: An ABSOLUTE beginner!

Quote Originally Posted by redandwhitead View Post
    Right, so, forgive me if this has all be done before. But I am an absolute beginner when it comes to recording my drums. I have zero technical knowledge.
    Anything else I'll need?

Thanks in advance

Adam
    I Dont know what the bank is so to speak so Im not sure how much will break it so I would look at a few different options.

Cheap Mics - Cad makes a 7pc mic kit that comes with kick, snare, 3 toms and 2 overhead mics for $199 at most places. They are not the best but I have used them and they will definitely do the trick. If you want to spend more money for quality mics Sennheiser e604's are about $100 a piece and are great mics. But you will still need a kick mic and overheads. Audix also makes some amazing hi end mics.

Software - Garageband will do the trick and its already on your computer. If you want to spend some money for software Logic Pro is an industry standard along with pro tools. But those cost a pretty penny.