Thread: The Coolest Thing Happened

User Info Menu

Default The Coolest Thing Happened

At this last Tuesday's practice, someone decided that it would be cool to play Bob Marley's "One Love/People Get Ready." Well, I appreciate that my band thinks I'm a good drummer, but I told them that I would have to try and learn reggae beats before I could even attempt to play it with them (our guitarist turned a little green just at the mention of reggae).

OK, here's the cool part. We found the song on YouTube and had a listen. Then I sat down and started messing about until I found the rhythm. Granted, I simplified it just a little bit, but there I was playing along with the song after hearing it just a few times. I knew that after playing guitar for a while, I could add new skills without the long learning curve that I had in the beginning, but I had not experienced anything like this before. It was definitely a cool moment for me, so I had to share it.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Default Re: The Coolest Thing Happened

Quote Originally Posted by pastor_bob View Post
    At this last Tuesday's practice, someone decided that it would be cool to play Bob Marley's "One Love/People Get Ready." Well, I appreciate that my band thinks I'm a good drummer, but I told them that I would have to try and learn reggae beats before I could even attempt to play it with them (our guitarist turned a little green just at the mention of reggae).