Thread: Pat Boone/Debbie Boone

User Info Menu

Default Pat Boone/Debbie Boone

So I was chillin at my drum shop and saw a t-shirt with a screen print of Pat & Debbie Boone on it, I asked a buddy what that was all about. He said it was an old drum fill or whatever that goes Pat-Boone-Deb-bie-Boone... snare-tom-snare,snare-tom, or however you wanted to use it on your kit. Simple but thought it was an easy way to use it. So i thought I'd ask you guys if you had any mnemonic ways of using a fill or a groove... a way of talking out what your playing in addition to "saying" drum sounds.

Just curious.

Oh and a newbie here, pretty cool site, really enjoyed all the posts/thoughts i've read! Thanks!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Pat Boone/Debbie Boone

User Info Menu

This is a fill I use for warming up. Now this is on a 5 pce standard kit .R ( right hand) L ( left hand) so you start R- snare, L - tom, R -hi tom, L- floor tom (the trick is to cross the left and under the right hand ) then R- hi tom, L- tom and R -snare. Just going back in forth this was and going faster and faster. Can't explain what song comes out of it but it has it 's little melody. Once you have mastered this then you hit bass on all right hits and open hhats on left and so on. Once everything is going together it gets easier. Anyway just thought I would share.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by NPYYZ View Post
    That was one of the funniest things I've ever seen.

User Info Menu

Don't think I've ever said it, so welcome to Drum Chat KCJones!

I never thought about using a mnemonic for a fill. It's an interesting thought, though, because over the years I've used many mnemonics to remember things. I'll be watching this thread to see what others have to say.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!