Thread: Drummers!!!Electronic or Acoustic?

User Info Menu

Smile Drummers!!!Electronic or Acoustic?

Hey drumming community. I'm a bassist and thinking of getting a drum set to record with and use live for some alternative rock kinda stuff. My budget is under $1000 and I want this investment to last. I've been looking at both kinds of sets but I don't really have the practice space where I'd be able to record with an acoustic without disturbing neighbors. After much deliberation I'm leaning towards Electronic--- Alesis DM10. While roland kits are better, so I hear, the Alesis has more pads and in that price range looks a helluva lot better. Playing live I know it is unorthodox to use vdrums and it would likely look strange, so I'd want it to look as least strange as possible. Another reason I want to get vdrums is because of the sounds I can get from it. Using electronic influence in the songs can be a cool innovation in my music, and I would like the option to do so I think for some fancier beats. Also, the setup and transportation is a lot easier...Will it be worth it to get virtual drums, or is it too ridiculous live? And if so, which set? Thanks in advance!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drummers!!!Electronic or Acoustic?

This is just my personal opinion, but I would not get electronic drums unless you have noise restrictions (neighbors, etc.) that would prevent you from using an acoustic set. And I wouldn't play live with e-drums unless I absolutely had to.

But like I said, that's just me. I'm not saying e-drums are bad...there are some fantastic e-kits out there, and I know plenty of drummers who use them and even play live with them. But if it were me, I'd go for the acoustic set if it was a feasible option.
    Peace, Love, and Rock N Roll

Matt

User Info Menu