Thread: Recording with Zoom H4N and Mixer

User Info Menu

Default Recording with Zoom H4N and Mixer

Hi,

I'm just getting started doing some recording. I have a Zoom H4N and a Micromix S16 mixer.

I've got 5 drum mics hooked into different channels in the mixer, and the mixer is connected to the Zoom via the Main line out in the back to the headphone port of the Zoom, as per the Zoom manual.

My problem is this: from what I understand, the great thing about the Zoom is that while doing multi-track recording I can listen to a count-in and a click track, as well as previously recorded tracks to make syncing up really simple. I can not do this with the headphone port in use as a connector to the mixer. Is there an alternate way to connect to the mixer thereby leaving the headphone port open? Or would a splitter work, so that I could connect and listen at the same time? Thanks for the help.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Recording with Zoom H4N and Mixer

Hi Dean and welcome to DrumChat. My recommendation is to buy a headphone amp and use it as a DA (distribution amp). Most headphone amps have multiple outputs that allow you to connect more than one source to it and most headphone amps have at least two inputs with a center stereo knob that allows you to balance the two inputs. Good luck and I hope this helps you out.

Here's the orginial pdf layout diagram for the zoom recorder:

Here's how I would install the headphone amp between the recorder and the other sources that you can intergrate it with:

#1)- headphone out from recorder to input #1 to headphone amp
    #2)- plug in the other sources to the output of the amp so you can here the click and count in from the zoom recorder.

User Info Menu

^^^^^^^WHAT HE SAID^^^^^^^^

Serioiusly, late8 has the right idea on how to connect your system.
    "it is what it is"

"Dont rent anything you cant afford to burn in the backyard while drunk." - ThePloughman

User Info Menu