Thread: Another Newbee

User Info Menu

Default Another Newbee

Hi everybody

Another newbee, despite having posted already, but I thought I better do a proper introduction.

I'm pretty much a complete beginner (at 26yrs old) having only picked up my first electronic kit (DTXplorer) four weeks ago.

Can't get enough of it at the moment, although university coursework is kinda getting in the way a bit at moment, so roll on summer holiday!

So far I have been pretty much noodling every night for at least 4 hours. Spend most of the time playing along to stuff, mainly blues and rock, such as SRV, muse, linkin park, metallica and The Who.

Really need to touch up on my skills with counting 16th notes (Hemidemisemiquaver as my guitarist friend told me last night lol)

quarters, eighths are a piece of piss, just the 16ths. Also hihat control is another issue but considering i've been going 4 weeks without picking up an instrument before it's a good start.

I find I end up speeding up towards the end or miss a few or both.

I think I need to invest in a practice pad with a metronome, so I can practice in my bedroom in front of the pc. So any recommendations? Ideally quiet as possible. Seen ones with headphones?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Another Newbee

Hi Dominic, I hope you're enjoying the start of your (endless) journey that is playing drums. I'm back playing after a while away and can't believe how much I've missed it.
    Anyway, if you have an Android phone there are two really great apps for drums, 'Andronome' is a really good metronome that uses an audible click, visual flash or vibrates to show time, as does 'Meganome'. Either of these are really useful. Also an app called 'Rude' is available again on Android and has 40 Rudiments. Theres also a facility to show examples. I'm betting they'll be available on I-Phone too. Oh, and they're all free.

User Info Menu

You spelled "newbie" wrong. But we'll let it go this time.

Welcome!

User Info Menu