Thread: Micing drums live 1st time | Recording Drums

User Info Menu

Default Micing drums live 1st time | Recording Drums

Hey guys,

new band needs drums mic'd when outdoors, most of the indoor gigs are too smal to require it. I am going to get some mics and was told that a nice small mixer should be used too so i can tune my sound and then run into a PA.

I am kind of new to this side of the aisle and would love to keep everything below $400 if I could. I do not need super duper $800 mics or anything, most gigs are less than $100 each and a freebie here and there as well.

I am thinking of spending the bulk of the money on the mixer, and just getting some cad-7 mics what are your thoughts. I can get a nice used Mackie 1402VLZ PRO mixer in great condition for $175-$200.

I have heard some cad-7's run through a behringer mixer on youtube and it sounded fantastic.

Few months ago I bought some audix fp-5's for $300 from GC but returned them a few weeks later as the guys I play with pissed me off with all the cancelling crap and having that money just sitting there was killing me. If I can get this mackie for $175 I may try to get the audix set again instead of the cad-7's

any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.
    Ludwig Classic Maple 22x16,10x8,12x9,16x16
    7" Moon Gel Practice Pad
    Sabian HHX Legacy

Decide whether this is love for the craft or simply an ego thing

http://www.redskymary.com/ NOT MY BAND, JUST A GREAT LOCAL BAND WHO SHOULD BE SOOO MUCH BIGGER IMO

User Info Menu

Default Re: Micing drums live 1st time