Thread: Is a new pedal the next logical upgrade?

User Info Menu

Default Is a new pedal the next logical upgrade?

Hey guys!

I have a sort of question/situation that some of you may be able to help me with. After the years of slowly acquiring nicer drums/cymbals, and after my most recent buy of my Sabian 19" AAXtreme China (), I have pretty much got my set up to where I have always dreamed it would be.

It's nothing fancy, by far. Just a really solid intermidate-level kit, in my opinion. Here are the specs:

Ludwig Accent CS Custom [Birch]:

10", 12", 14" toms, 14" Snare, 22" bass. I love the sound of them. Perfect to my ears.

Sabian Xs20 medium-thin crashes (16", 18"), Xs20 14" medium hats, Xs20 medium ride, AA 8" splash, AAXtreme China 19". All sound fantastic, no immediate problems.

Annnnnd finally, my bass pedal. I have the same $100 PDP pedal that most beginners have.

I'm wondering if getting a nice pedal would be my best upgrade. I'm no expert on double pedals, but I can feel like this one is holding me back.

Also, if I were to go for a new pedal, (My 17th birthday is Friday. Still haven't decided what to ask for. ) what would you recommend I should look into? I don't need anything crazy, just a solid pedal in the preferably sub-$300 range. Also, would buying a pedal used be a good idea? I know there are great deals for used cymbals/drums out there, but are pedals any different in the used market? I guess I just feel like there is a greater likelihood of failure due to the moving parts.

Thanks for the help!

ZK
    Sabian Squad (Albeit Ironically )

Check out my Youtube Channel! http://www.youtube.com/user/AustVaiv?feature=mhee

User Info Menu

Default Re: Is a new pedal the next logical upgrade?

I'd check out the Pearl P902 if you're buying new. Otherwise try to get a p-2002 under 300 used.
    ZildjianLeague/LP/Aquarian/Mapex/Pearl
    Snares: 4
    RIP- Frank, Wolvie, Les Paul
    Quote Originally Posted by Pearl MCX Man View Post