Thread: back issues

User Info Menu

Default back issues

my lower back and sometimes upper back hurt if Im playing a slow, or quit song, because those kinds of songs you tend not to move around as much. and when im staying in one spot for about 15 mins my back starts to get worse and worse as the time go's on. i know its not good and i want to do something about it. this is what my thone looks like (pretty close)>> http://www.indoorstorm.com/dixon/ddh014.jpg
    and i was wondering if you think it is my throne that is causing this? I was thinking of a throne something like this http://www.brdistribution.co.uk/acatalog/WMCT.jpg
    , its pricey, but you cant put a price on health

User Info Menu

I don't think that the throne change is going to make a difference unless it has a backrest. Then again, I'm not an expert on this. Any doctors or chiropractors in the house?

I can say to make sure you're getting proper exercise regardless. This will help strengthen your back. Also, be sure you're sitting up straight when you play. If you're slouching, that can't be helping.

Often, if you go without exercise, your back will pay a price anyway. It's probably not stemming from your stool. You're just feeling the effects of it when you play.

User Info Menu

Yes, there is a chiropractor in the house, but you don't need me. You said it well, drummer! The most common problem for a drummer is to slouch when drumming. That puts tremendous pressure on the lower back, and can cause the vertebrae of the spine to shift ever so slightly out of there normal position. Your back knows the difference, and will become tired more quickly. If spinal misalignments already exist, a chiropractor can help, and then you need to make sure that you sit up straight when you are playing. If that is tiring, you should exercise the back muscles, and the abdominal muscles, to improve the "core strength" necessary to survive as a drummer.
    Last edited by pastor_bob; 08-24-2007 at 09:34 AM.