Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drum head opinions for birch

User Info Menu

Default Drum head opinions for birch

Hi all! I am brand new to the site AND brand new to the drums! Been playing for about 6 days now. Lol

I had been playing strings off and on for about the last 5 years, but never had the proper base or direction. So I would always get discouraged after a few months. I have found a very respected drum instructor in my area so I'm very excited about getting off to a sound fundamental start! My first lesson is actually tomorrow night, but I've been having a blast just hitting them so far! Lol

Anyway, enough about me. The thing that got me to pull the trigger on a kit was that Guitar Center had a PDP FS series on clearance. It was 100% birch (which as I understand is far better than the basswood & poplar low end kits) and the price was great! But of course the heads are stock and horrible. A buddy that's been playing for most of his life came and showed me how to tune them. He gave me a thumbs up on kit choice, but said "change the heads as soon as your able". I've read that selecting heads for birch is tricky.

I plan to be learning and playing classic rock/hard rock/some metal. No crazy metal like death or speed (not my thing). Mostly just rock. I'm looking for some options from veterans on what batters & resos might suit my kit/music choice. Thanks ahead of time!
    Last edited by foochcky; 05-07-2013 at 07:37 PM.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drum head opinions for birch

Hey foochcky! Welcome to DrumChat but more importantly welcome to the world of drumming!! So six days playing huh? Cool!!! You've come to the right place because we like to help out our fellow drummers here.

I had a all birch kit and man, it was loud and projected very well. I wish I still had it but that besides the point. Good choice on getting it!