Thread: Absolute Newbie - Cymbals: How many/type?

User Info Menu

Default Absolute Newbie - Cymbals: How many/type?

Hi All,

I am brand new to drumming, and am waiting on my first drum to be delivered, a snare drum.

While it's a long way off, I'm curious how a newbie would go about deciding about cymbals for a kit. I'm an old guy and have money available, and won't be starting with a beginner's kit...will probably end up doing something in the Drum Workshop line for drums. But what do you experts suggest as far as how many cymbals that someone like me should start with? How many, what type (hi hats, ride, crash, etc.) and what sizes? Of course, I'll start out by learning rudiments, but I would expect that I'd be leaning toward rock type drumming if I ever get any good.

So...what would all of you smart, knowledgeable guys suggest in terms of cymbals to start with? Again, I"m not planning to start with beginner stuff...as far as quality, it will be toward the pro end of the spectrum, but I'm not so much worried about brand and specific lines of cymbals, as much as how many and type. Thanks for any help
    Now, just a tiny bit less than an absolute drum newbie
    DW Collectors Cherry kit, Ludwig Black Beauty Snare, DW SuperSolid Oak/Cherry Snare, DW Sabian Vault Edge Snare

User Info Menu

Default Re: Absolute Newbie - Cymbals: How many/type?

cabasner, if I were you, I'd start checking in all the music stores I could find in my area. I'd borrow a stick and I'd tap every cymbal I could find to find out what sound exited my ears. The selection of cymbals is a personal thing. It has to be a sound that you like (unless you are shopping for cymbals for a specific style of music).

Zildjian A's are always good chooses, as are Zildjian A Customs. Sabian has equivalents in their AA series, and AAX series.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.